Getting to know us – Jules Beresford Dent

With the purpose of letting you see the person behind the job, we came up with the idea of introducing you to our team members.  This time it was Jules’ turn to answer some questions about herself:

Name:  Jules Beresford Dent

Born (Place): Greater Man chester

Job Title: Research Assistant

Why did you choose to work in dementia? 

I am interested in person centred and recovery based approaches for people living with chronic health conditions: approaches that focus on what people can do, not what they can’t do. Over the years I have worked in a variety of services that are connected to supporting people living with dementia, including care homes, home care and older people’s mental health services.

Now tell us a little about yourself:

Current and past interests and jobs

My career and education is perhaps not typical in that I left school at 16, completed a Youth Training Scheme (showing my age here!) and then worked in industry as a sales rep/manager.   I was made redundant which prompted me to reflect on what I wanted to do longer term with my career so in 1995 I refocused, secured a new job working in health care and went to university as a mature student, part time, to complete a BA in Sociology and Social Policy, then a MA in Social Policy.

Over the past 20+ years I have worked in private health care,  the NHS and the ‘third sector’ in a variety of service sectors including dentistry, care homes, mental health services, substance misuse services and stroke services.The roles I have undertaken have been varied too including recruitment, service planning, project management and research roles.

I completed my MSc in Health Research in 2016 and joined the Centre for Applied Dementia Studies in April 2017 to work as a Research Assistant on ‘Journeying through Dementia’. Whilst working and studying I have also held a number of voluntary roles including being a Trustee for an organisation supporting people experiencing homelessness, a dog walker for the RSPCA and a kennel assistant for a cat rescue.

Out of work I enjoy spending time with our companion animals.  We have recently adopted Art who is an eight year old ex racing greyhound from Ireland.  He is a total joy to be around and has mindfulness off to a tee… ‘living in the moment’!  In my spare time I campaign peacefully for the end of greyhound racing and you can find me, usually one Saturday a month, outside various betting shops around West Yorkshire, raising awareness amongst the public. I also enjoy walking, going to the movies, attending live arts events such as poetry slams/readings, plays and music gigs.

Places you have lived and visited

I grew up in Greater Manchester and lived there for many years before moving around for a few years between Suffolk, North Yorkshire and Greater Manchester before settling in Hebden Bridge in 2010.

I’d love to live by the sea and try to get to the coast for holidays when possible. I have been lucky enough to visit many beautiful and interesting countries but Turkey is perhaps my most favourite to visit. I visited Istanbul this year for the first time which was magical.   We have recently bought a VW campervan, Norah, and have just returned from a week touring the south west Scottish coast which was beautiful.  Two people and a large greyhound in a campervan is very cosy!

What two things do you consider yourself to be very good at?

I am very well organised and a good multi tasker which helps at home and at work.  I am also a decent cook and especially enjoy making bread, pickles and chutneys.

What two things do you consider yourself to be less good at?

Mmm, where to start! I am terrible at sewing despite attending sewing classes and buying a sewing machine to practice on – we still don’t have any curtains in the sitting room: 9 years after moving in!  I am also terrible at exercise classes – total lack of focus and co-ordination!

Where/How do you see yourself in the next three to five years?

Hopefully healthy and taking part in positive, meaningful activities/work that bring happiness to myself and others.

Monday, August 12th, 2019 in Team